NYU Press

Principles of Sufism PB

Aishah al-Ba'uniyyah




Outlining the four principles of Repentance, Sincerity, Remembrance, and Love, The Principles of Sufism traces the fundamental stages and states of the spiritual novice’s transformative journey, emphasizing the importance of embracing both human limitations and God’s limitless love. Drawing on lessons and readings from centuries-old Sufi tradition, 'A'ishah advises the seeker to repent of selfishness and turn to a sincere life of love.



1. The First Principle: Repentance

2. The Second Principle: Sincerity

3. The Third Principle: Remembrance

4. The Fourth Principle: Love